Don't go in the woods...
Oct. 2nd, 2005 12:42 pmTonight's Halloween Month Movie A Night: The Blair Witch Project.
I'll be watching it later tonight. This one freaked me out the first time I saw it. Like Rosemary's Baby this one does not rely on things you can see. This one relies on things unseen. A terrifying something. A trio of college kids embark upon a project to document "The Blair Witch", a long lived local legend. Things start off alright. Until they go to shoot some footage in the woods. There they encounter something they never dreamed, something completely horrifying. The final image of this film left me with a chill I couldn't shake for days.
I know that many people enjoy ragging on this film now, but I don't get why. It's concept is brilliant. Before it's release, it was so built up, including a website detailing the legend, and containing "footage" and more. It got the hype for the movie up so much you really did think this was all "for real".
I kept watching and watching for opportunities where Heather, Josh and Mike could bolt, could escape. But it never came. The more they tried the more it trapped them, sealing their doom. Keep in mind, this is all done via their "footage", so it feels very much like a home movie shot on a video camera. It's jumpy. Which is the great thing about it I think. Makes it more "real". Watch this one with the lights on.
I'll be watching it later tonight. This one freaked me out the first time I saw it. Like Rosemary's Baby this one does not rely on things you can see. This one relies on things unseen. A terrifying something. A trio of college kids embark upon a project to document "The Blair Witch", a long lived local legend. Things start off alright. Until they go to shoot some footage in the woods. There they encounter something they never dreamed, something completely horrifying. The final image of this film left me with a chill I couldn't shake for days.I know that many people enjoy ragging on this film now, but I don't get why. It's concept is brilliant. Before it's release, it was so built up, including a website detailing the legend, and containing "footage" and more. It got the hype for the movie up so much you really did think this was all "for real".
I kept watching and watching for opportunities where Heather, Josh and Mike could bolt, could escape. But it never came. The more they tried the more it trapped them, sealing their doom. Keep in mind, this is all done via their "footage", so it feels very much like a home movie shot on a video camera. It's jumpy. Which is the great thing about it I think. Makes it more "real". Watch this one with the lights on.


